About HFES

Leadership and Staff

Governance Culture Statement

LEADERSHIP

Executive Council

President

Peter Hancock
Christopher R. Reid
The Boeing Company
Email the President

Immediate Past President

M-Susan-Hallbeck
Peter Hancock
University of Central Florida

President-Elect

Christopher R. Reid
Carolyn Sommerich 
Ohio State University

Secretary-Treasurer

Susan Kotowski
Ellen Bass
Drexel University

Immediate Past Secretary-Treasurer

Caroline G. L. Cao
Susan Kotowski
University of Cincinnati

Secretary-Treasurer-Elect

Ellen Bass
Ayse Gurses
Johns Hopkins University

At-Large Executive Council Member

Thomas J. Albin
Deborah Boehm-Davis
 

At-Large Executive Council Member

Barry Goettl
Barry Goettl
U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory

At-Large Executive Council Member

Paul A. Green
Paul A. Green
University of Michigan

At-Large Executive Council Member

Rebecca Grier
Rebecca Grier
Microsoft

At-Large Executive Council Member

Nancy Larson
Caroline Cao
IMT Atlantique & University of South Australia

At-Large Executive Council Member


Ranjana Mehta
Texas A&M University

Division Chairs

Education Division

Barbara Chaparro
Barbara Chaparro
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Internal Affairs Division


Sami Durrani
Eli Lilly and Company

Outreach Division


Blake McGowan
University of Waterloo

Scientific Publications Division


Bill J. Horrey
AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety

Technical Standards Division


Ram Maikala
National Safety Council

View a list of all HFES officers, editors, and committee chairs from 1957 to present

HFES Staff

Operations


Steven C. Kemp, CAE
Executive Director
Skemp@hfes.org 
(202) 367-1114
 
 

Joann DeNardis
Operations Sr. Manager
JDeNardis@hfes.org
(312) 673-5880
JessicaWong
Caitlin Sarlo
Operations Sr. Coordinator
csarlo@hfes.org 
(202) 367-1114
 
Madeleine Sullivan
Operations Associate
msullivan@hfes.org
(202) 367-2416

Erica Cherepko
Operations Associate
mjohnson@hfes.org
(202) 367-2398

 

 Marketing

Kate Purdy
Sr. Manager, Marketing and Communication Services
kpurdy@hfes.org
(202) 367-2387

Kate Levin
Sr. Editor/Manager, Marketing and Communication Services
klevin@hfes.org
(202) 367-1271

 

Alexa Schlosser
Manager, Marketing and Communication Services
aschlosser@hfes.org
(312) 673-5791

 

Sean Dillon
Coordinator, Marketing and Communication Services
sdillon@hfes.org
(202) 367-2388

Emma Gassman 
Editorial Associate
egassman@hfes.org
(312) 673-5662

 

 

 Education and Learning

Alexis Kolak
Sr. Manager, Education and Learning Services
akolak@hfes.org
(312) 673-4777

 

Amy Cheng
Manager, Education and Learning Services
acheng@hfes.org
(312) 673-5653

 

Maria Wittenauer
Associate, Education and Learning Services
mwittenauer@hfes.org
(312) 673-5576

 

 

Information Technology

 

DenisJanis

Denis Janis
Director, Information Technology Services
Djanis@smithbucklin.com 
(312) 673-4789

ScottBeitzel

Scott Beitzel
Manager, Information Technology Services
sbeitzel@smithbucklin.com 
(312) 673-5637
(312) 673-5637

 

Exhibits & Sales

Michael Sanders
Coordinator, Exhibits/Sponsorship Sales Services
msanders@hfes.org 
(312) 673-5496

Financial Management and Accounting

Rodrigo Melendez
Coordinator, Financial Management and Accounting Services
rmelendez@smithbucklin.com 
(202) 367-1114