About HFES

Society Leadership and Staff

Executive Council


Carolyn Sommerich 
Ohio State University
Email the President

Immediate Past President

Christopher Reid
The Boeing Company


Susan Kotowski
University of Cincinnati


Ayse Gurses
Johns Hopkins University

Immediate Past Secretary-Treasurer

Ellen Bass
Drexel University



Julie Gilpin-McMinn
Spirit Aerosystems, Inc.


At-Large Members of the Executive Council

Deborah Boehm-Davis



Caroline Cao
IMT Atlantique & University of South Australia


Barry Goettl
U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory


Paul A. Green
University of Michigan


Ranjana Mehta
University of Wisconsin Madison

Shannon Roberts
University of Massachusetts, Amherst


Division Chairs

Education Division

Keith Jones
Texas Tech U.



Internal Affairs Division

Ranjana Mehta
University of Wisconsin Madison



Scientific Affairs Division

Patricia DeLucia
Rice University

Outreach Division

Blake McGowan

Technical Standards Division

Ram Maikala
National Safety Council