HFES Announces New Science Policy Fellows


The Human Factors and Ergonomics Society is pleased to announce the 2019-2020 Science Policy Fellows:

  • Michael Clamman (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Highway Safety Research Center),
  • Jessica Howe (MedStar Health National Center for Human Factors in Healthcare),
  • Sarah Parker (Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine, Center for Simulation, Research and Patient Safety),
  • Kelly Steelman (Michigan Technological University), and
  • Neal Wiggermann (Hill-Rom).

 The Science Policy Fellows will be involved in working with the HFES Government Relations Committee and Lewis-Burke Associates to develop policy statements and perform outreach activities to Government decision makers on Capital Hill and within government agencies. The Science Policy Fellowship is a 3-year program that provides recipients with training in government affairs, opportunities to impact the policy process, and forms a politically cognizant body of HFES members for advocacy and outreach.