Skip Navigation

Human Factors and Ergonomics Society

About HFES
HFES Bulletin
Technical Groups
Public Policy Matters
HFES Meetings
Awards and Fellows
Educational Resources
National Ergonomics Month
Information for Students
Job Placement Service
Directory of Consultants
Links of Interest
Advertise with HFES
Jupiter Images



About Search

HFES News and Bulletin

2012 HFES Fellows and Awardees Honored in Boston
Tuesday, October 23, 2012

The Human Factors and Ergonomics Society elected seven Fellows and presented Society-wide awards on October 23, 2012, during the Opening Plenary Session of the 56th Annual Meeting in Boston, Massachusetts.

Newly elected Fellows are as follows:

  • Anthony D. Andre, founder and principal of Interface Analysis Associates, and Adjunct Professor, Departments of Industrial Engineering and Psychology at San Jose State University
  • Paul A. Green, Research Professor, University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute’s Driver Interface Group
  • Valerie J. Berg Rice, Field Element Chief and Human Factors Engineer and Ergonomist and Research Scientist, U.S. Army Medical Department Center and School
  • Penelope M. Sanderson, Professor, Cognitive Engineering and Human Factors, University of Queensland, Australia
  • Kay Stanney, President, Design Interactive Inc.
  • Gregg C. Vanderheiden, Professor, Industrial and Systems Engineering, University of Wisconsin
  • Matthew B. Weinger, Norman Ty Smith Chair in Patient Safety and Medical Simulation and Professor, Anesthesiology, Biomedical Informatics, and Medical Education, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

The recipient of the Jerome H. Ely Human Factors Article Award was Rob Gray, University of Birmingham, for his paper, “Looming Auditory Collision Warnings for Driving.” (Volume 53, Number 1, February 2011). The author presented a novel, theoretically motivated display concept, in this case a “looming” auditory cue signaling a potential collision. The study included a well-designed experiment that compared performance obtained with this display versus a well-chosen variety of alternative displays that are regularly used, finding an interesting pattern of results.

Susumu Saito of Japan was honored with the Hal W. Hendrick Distinguished International Colleague Award. Saito has made substantial contributions to occupational safety and health in Japan through his direction of research programs in this area at the Institute for Science of Labour and through his extensive participation over several years on multiple government and industry advisory committees and panels that affect the quality of life, health, and safety of Japanese workers, children, and elderly.

The Paul M. Fitts Education Award was presented to Penelope M. Sanderson, professor of psychology at the University of Queensland, in recognition of nearly three decades of sustained, exceptional effort and success in the education of human factors/ergonomics specialists at top universities such as the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Swinburne University, and the University of Queensland.   

Richard A. Tyrrell of the Department of Psychology, Clemson University, received the A. R. Lauer Safety Award in recognition of his validated, innovative techniques both to enhance nighttime visibility of pedestrians and to educate road users of the unavoidable hazards of reduced visibility at night. This program of research offers economical and highly effective routes to reducing pedestrian accidents. This research also holds the promise of saving thousands of lives annually in the United States and millions worldwide.

The recipient of the Alphonse Chapanis Student Paper Award is Anthony McDonald (University of Wisconsin-Madison) for the 56th Annual Meeting paper "Real-Time Detection of Drowsiness-Related Lane Departures Using Steering Wheel Angle." Coauthors are Chris Schwarz (National Advanced Driving Simulator), John Lee (University of Wisconsin-Madison, and Timothy Brown (National Advanced Driving Simulator)

The Jack A. Kraft Innovator Award was presented to Anil Mital, University of Cincinnati, in acknowledgment of his innovations in extending the applications of human factors/ergonomics to advanced manufacturing systems. He has developed techniques, procedures, and methodologies and reported on them widely so that those both inside and outside the HF/E field can apply them. In addition, he has demonstrated the economic benefits of these applications. His research and development is now referenced by more than 100 universities and is cited in numerous encyclopedias and handbooks on robotics and manufacturing design.

The Best Ergonomics in Design Article Award was presented to Thomas Dingus, Richard Hanowski, and Sheila Klauer for “Estimating Crash Risk” (Volume 19, Number 4, October 2011). The authors advocate that accident data must be considered in the context of real-world driving if such data are to lead to realistic preventive behavior.

Peter A. Hancock, University of Central Florida, received the Oliver Keith Hansen Outreach Award for extensive outreach activities and achievements spanning three decades and cutting across multiple levels of targeted outreach populations.

HFES President Mica Endsley presented the Arnold M. Small President’s Distinguished Service Award to M. M. Ayoub, Texas Tech University, for his career-long contributions that have brought honor to the profession and the Society.

HFES congratulates all the newly elected Fellows and award recipients.

More News