Skip Navigation

Human Factors and Ergonomics Society

Home
Login
About HFES
Newsroom
Membership
HFES Bulletin
Technical Groups
Chapters
Publications
Standards
Public Policy Matters
HFES Meetings
Awards and Fellows
Educational Resources
Webinars
National Ergonomics Month
Information for Students
Career Center
Consultants Directory
Calendar
Links of Interest
Advertise with HFES
Getty Images

Search

 

About Search

Webinars

2011 Webinar Series

A new, exclusive benefit of HFES membership is a monthly Webinar series, hosted by HFES President Anthony Andre. HFES Webinars aim to provide continuing education to members on a variety of topics and domains, with the convenience of virtual participation. Webinar presenters are selected from among past HFES award winners, recent authors in HFES publications, high-profile members, and those conducting research or practice in key topical areas. Members do not have to pay an additional charge to participate.

The following is a schedule of Webinars being provided for HFES members. Future Webinar dates and information will be added shortly, so please bookmark this page and check back frequently.

If you are an HFES member, all webinar recordings and handouts will be available at hfes.org within 5 business days of the presentation. If you are not an HFES member and you register for a webinar, you will be e-mailed a copy of the webinar recording and handouts also within 5 business days.

Before attending a webinar, please read the Webinars FAQ.

Members: If you haven't yet renewed your membership, please log in at hfes.org.

If you're not yet a member but would like to join to take advantage of these Webinars and the many other benefits of HFES membership, please go to the Membership page.

Webinar presenters: Webinar presentation guidelines are available here.

2011 SCHEDULE

January 25-26

Cognitive Work Analysis: A Tutorial
Gavan Lintern, Private Consultant, Cognitive Systems Design
January 25, 4:00 p.m. PST, 7:00 p.m. EST
January 26, 7:00 a.m. PST, 10:00 a.m. EST

February 28

Imperfect Automation Alerting Systems: Lessons Learned From Air Traffic Control Conflict Alerts
Christopher D. Wickens, Senior Scientist, Alion Science and Technology
10:00 a.m. PST, 1:00 p.m. EST

March 16

Human Factors Design for Medical Devices?Overview of the Latest Standard: AAMI HE75:2009
Edmond W. Israelski, Human Factors Program Manager, Abbott Laboratories
9:00 a.m. Pacific / 10:00 a.m. Mountain / 11:00 a.m. Central / 12:00 noon Eastern

April 25

Human Factors in Product and Interface Design
Robert Tannen, Director of Research & Interface Design, Bresslergroup
8:30-10:00 a.m. Pacific / 9:30-11:00 a.m. Mountain / 10:30-12:00 noon Central / 11:30-1:00 p.m. Eastern

May 10

Overview of BCPE Certification
William J. Boyd, Senior Vice President, CNA Insurance Company
9:00-10:30 a.m. Pacific / 10:00-11:30 a.m. Mountain / 11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Central / 12:00 noon-1:30 p.m. Eastern / 5:00-6:30 p.m. GMT

May 23

Myths About Autonomous Machines and Robots
David D. Woods, Director, Center for Complexity in Natural, Social, and Engineered Systems; Professor, Department of Integrated Systems Engineering: Human Systems Integration Section, Ohio State University.
9:00-10:30 a.m. Pacific / 10:00-11:30 a.m. Mountain / 11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Central / 12:00 noon-1:30 p.m. Eastern / 5:00-6:30 p.m. GMT

June 14

The Human Factors Expert: A Key Component in Forensic Investigation and Litigation
Marc L. Resnick, Professor, Bentley University
9:00-10:30 a.m. Pacific / 10:00-11:30 a.m. Mountain / 11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Central / 12:00 noon-1:30 p.m. Eastern / 5:00-6:30 p.m. GMT

July 27

Current Trends in Situation Awareness Research and Application
Mica R. Endsley, President, SA Technologies
9:00-10:30 a.m. Pacific / 10:00-11:30 a.m. Mountain / 11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Central / 12:00 noon-1:30 p.m. Eastern / 5:00-6:30 p.m. GMT

August 25

2010 Dieter W. Jahns Student Practitioner Award Recipient: "Design of a Public Urinal"
Augusto Espinosa, Graduate Human Factors Program Student, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
9:30-11:00 a.m. Pacific / 10:30 a.m.-12:00 noon Mountain / 11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m. Central / 12:30-2:00 p.m. Eastern / 5:30-7:00 p.m. GMT

September 30

Neuroergonomics Theory and Methods
Raja Parasuraman, Professor, George Mason University
9:00-10:30 a.m. Pacific / 10:00-11:30 a.m. Mountain / 11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Central / 12:00 noon-1:30 p.m. Eastern / 5:00-6:30 p.m. GMT

October 20

Managing Human Error in Complex Systems
Scott A. Shappell, Professor, Department of Industrial Engineering, Clemson University; Founding Partner, HFACS, Inc.
9:00-10:30 a.m. Pacific / 10:00-11:30 a.m. Mountain / 11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Central / 12:00 noon-1:30 p.m. Eastern / 5:00-6:30 p.m. GMT

November 14

Making the Human-Technology Marriage Work
John D. Lee, Emerson Electric Professor, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Madison
9:30-11:00 a.m. Pacific / 10:30 a.m.-12:00 noon Mountain / 11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m. Central / 12:30-2:00 p.m. Eastern / 5:30-7:00 p.m. GMT

December

The HFES Webinar series is on vacation until January. Happy Holidays!