Skip Navigation

Human Factors and Ergonomics Society

Home
Login
About HFES
Newsroom
Membership
HFES Bulletin
Technical Groups
Chapters
Publications
Standards
Public Policy Matters
HFES Meetings
Awards and Fellows
Educational Resources
Webinars
National Ergonomics Month
Information for Students
Career Center
Consultants Directory
Calendar
Links of Interest
Advertise with HFES
Getty Images

Search

 

About Search
 
HFES Bulletin

August 2011
Volume 54, Number 8

Inside HFES

August 25 Webinar: ?Design of a Public Urinal?

Augusto Espinosa

This month?s webinar will be presented by the 2010 recipient of the Foundation for Professional Ergonomics? Dieter W. Jahns Student Practitioner Award, Augusto Espinosa. Register today for the August 25 webinar, which takes place at the following times:

  • 9:30?11:00 a.m. Pacific
  • 10:30 a.m.?12:00 noon Mountain
  • 11:30 a.m.?1:00 p.m. Central
  • 12:30? 2:00 p.m. Eastern
  • 5:30?7:00 p.m. GMT

After a night on the town, Espinosa became motivated to redesign a common item that many people tend not to think about: the public urinal. Using a human factors/ergonomics approach, he designed a urinal that better utilizes space, promotes hygiene, and saves water. Follow Espinosa as he talks about the research and design process of this award-winning concept that could one day have a positive impact on both users and businesses.

About the Presenter
Augusto Espinosa is a graduate student from the Human Factors Department at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. He holds a bachelor?s degree in human factors psychology and is working on completing his master?s degree in human factors and systems. Espinosa works as an environmental health and safety specialist at a chemical production facility in New Smyrna Beach, Florida.
Espinosa has been recognized for his work in numerous national competitions in human factors/ergonomics. In addition to the Dieter W. Jahns Student Practitioner Award ("Design of a Men's Public Urinal With a Built-In Hand Sanitation System,") he won third place at the FAA Airport Design Competition for Universities.

Registration
HFES Members: This webinar is free! Registration for this webinar is available here.
Feel free to pass this along to nonmembers, who may register for $125. Nonmember registration is available here.


Back to the Table of Contents for the August 2011 HFES Bulletin

Download a .pdf version of this issue

Archive of past HFES Bulletin issues (in .pdf format)